Former Directors

Dr. Ranganath Ramarao Navalgund

Born: March 17, 1948
Ph. D (Physics), 1977, from Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay
M. Sc (Physics), 1970, from Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
Positions held Earlier:
Director & Distinguished Scientist, Space Application Centre, ISRO ( 2005-2012 )
Director, National Remote Sensing Agency, Dept. of Space, Govt. of India (May 2001 to Nov. 2005)
Deputy Director, Remote Sensing Applications Area, Space Applications Centre (ISRO), Ahmedabad (1998-2001)
Group Director, Space Applications Centre (ISRO), Ahmedabad (1994-1998)
Major Scientific and Technical Contributions
Overseeing the development of electro-optical sensors for IRS series of satellites: Resourcesat, Cartosat, Oceansat-1, microwave sensors for RISAT, Megha-Tropiques, Oceansat-2, communication transponders for GSAT-series, and navigation payloads for IRNSS.
Provided leadership in evolving and executing National level Remote Sensing Application Programmes in the fields of Crop Production Forecasting; Watershed Development; Ground water prospect; Ocean Colour; Coastal Zone Management; Wasteland inventory, Wetland inventory; District level planning.
Definition of sensors (spectral bands and ground resolutions) on IRS Series of Satellites Evolving National Natural Resources Management System and Promotion of remote sensing activities in the states
Data Acquisition and Processing Systems, including International Ground Stations.
Disaster Management Support Programme: Setting up a Decision Support Centre at NRSC (then NRSA).
Science and application programmes related to Oceansat-2, Megha-Tropiques, INSAT-3D and SARAL. International Assignments

Co-chair of the Indo-US Joint Working Group on Civil Space Co-operation (since 2005).
Co-chair, ISRO European Space Agency Joint Working Group on Earth Observation.
Co-chair, ISRO-CNES Steering Committee for Megha-Tropiques.
Chair, Working Group of International Academy of Astronautics on Disaster Management/Natural Hazards.
Leader of the Indian delegation and Joint Working Group between the Chinese Space Agency and ISRO.
Responsible for the establishment of India-Myanmar Friendship Remote Sensing Centre at Yangon, Myanmar.
Principal Member of the Group on Earth Observation [Global Earth Observation System of systems (GEOSS)] (2003 – till date)
Member of the International Ocean Colour Coordinating Group (IOCCG) (1999-2003, 2005-2009).
Member of the Indian delegation to the UN Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space.
Role in Professional Societies
President of the Technical Commission of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing for the period 2000-2004
President, Indian Society of Remote Sensing, Dehradun , India (2004 - 2006)
President, Indian Society of Geomatics (2008-11)
Fellow, Indian Academy of Science, Bangalore
Fellow, Astronautical Society of India, Bangalore
Fellow, Indian Geophysical Union, Hyderabad
Fellow, Indian Society of Remote Sensing, Dehradun
Fellow, Andhra Pradesh Academy of Sciences, Hyderabad
Fellow, Gujarat Science Academy, Ahmedabad
Member, International Academy of Astronautics