Former Directors


Alur Seelin Kiran Kumar received his Physics (Honou rs) Degree from National College, Bangalore University in 1971. He obtained his Masters Degree in Electronics from Bangalore University in 1973 and thereafter M. Tech Degree in Physical Engineeri ng from Indian Institute of Science (Bangalore) in 1975. Shri Kiran Kumar joined Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in 1975. He has contributed to the design and development of Electro-Optical Im aging Sensors for Airborne, LEO and GEO platform based imaging sensors starting from Bhaska ra TV payload to the latest MSM, TIS and MCC payloads for MARS missions. He has made very signi ficant contributions in evolving the observation strategy encompassing, Land, Ocean atmospheric and planetary studies. Important contributions cover -

Realizing three tier imaging concept for IRS-1C to Resourcesat-2
Ocean Colour instruments to cater to PFZ forecast
High Resolution along track stereo imaging system o f Cartosat-1
Achieving sub-meter resolution optical imaging capa bility with TES to Cartosat-2
Realizing of meteorological payloads of 2-channel a nd 3-channel VHRR
Third generation Imager and Sounder from GEO platfo rm

Shri Kiran Kumar has been steering design, developm ent, realization and application activities of communication, navigation, microwave and optical re mote sensing payloads developed at the Centre.

He is recipient of many a laurels/awards like –

Padmashri Award conferred by President of India.
Indian Society of Remote Sensing Award for the year 1994.
VASVIK Award (Electronic sciences and technology) f or the year 1998.
Astronautical Society of India Award (Space science s and Applications) for the year 2001.
ISRO Individual Service Award 2006.
Bhaskara Award conferred by Indian Society of Remot e Sensing for the year 2007.
Laurels for Team Achievement Award 2008 (Cartosat) of International Academy of Astronautics.
ISRO Performance Excellence Award 2008.
Laurels for Team Achievement Award 2013 (Chandrayaa n-1) of International Academy of Astronautics.

He is a Fellow of (i) Indian National Academy of En gineering (ii) Indian Society of Remote Sensing (ii i) Institution of Electronics & Telecommunication Engi neers (iv) Indian Meteorological Society; and (i) Member of International Academy of Astronautics.

He has represented ISRO in international forums lik e World Meteorological Organisation (WMO), Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) an d Indo-US Joint Working Group on Civil Space Cooperation.