Our Director

Tapan Misra

Distinguished Scientist

Director, Space Applications Centre

He was born in 1961 in Raigada, Orissa, India. He has graduated in Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering from Jadavpur University, Calcutta in 1984. He was awarded the prestigious Sir J C Bose National Talent Search (JBNSTS) Scholarship in 1981.

Since 1984, he is involved in development of Microwave Remote Sensing payloads in Space Applications Centre (SAC-ISRO), Ahmedabad. He began his career as digital hardware engineer responsible for development of Quick Look Display system of X-band SLAR.

He was the lead designer for development of C-band SAR Payload based on active antenna concept. His leadership has resulted in partnership with Indian Industry in developing critical technology elements needed for RISAT like MMICs, TR modules, miniaturised pulsed power supplies and ASIC based TR controllers. This partnership has important element of qualification of processes and personnel for production of Space Grade Electronics apart from industrial development and production. Presently this payload has been launched in 2012.

He was lead member of the team which designed and developed C-band Airborne SAR (ASAR), implementing full motion compensation. He developed FFT based Real Time Sub-aperture (FFTRTS) algorithm for real time processing of SAR during his tenure as Guest Scientist in German Aerospace Agency (DLR) in 1990.

He led the team which developed a multi-resolution,multi-swath airborne SAR system called DMSAR(SAR for Disaster Management) in 2005-2006.He also invented the algorithm called track steering algorithm for high resolution processing of DMSAR. He also led the development of Scatterometer payload for Oceansat-2 which was launched in 2009 and providing valuable wind vector data to global meteorological community

During 1995-1999, as Project Manager for system engineering of Multi-frequency Scanning Microwave Radiometer (MSMR) payload for IRS-P4, he contributed mainly in the field of system design, simulation, integration, checkout and ground calibration for MSMR payload. He was also responsible for development of cryogenic blackbody targets for ground characterisation of MSMR payload.

He was also heading the Office of Innovations Management of ISRO at ISRO Headquarters, Bengaluru.

He led the team to develop futuristic remote sensing systems like DBF based S-band SAR for NISAR,L-band SAR very agile high resolution X-band SAR,mm-Wave sounders and advanced Scatterometer.

He was Conferred with-

   i.  “D.Sc.,(Doctor in Science)(Honoris Causa)” by Jadavpur University,Kolkata in 2016

He was Awarded/Felicitated with-

   i.  Hari Om Ashram Prerit Vikram Sarabhai Research Award in 2004
   ii.  ISRO Merit Award in 2008 for his contribution of development of SAR Technology.
   iii.  ISRO Team Excellence Award in 2012 for RISAT-1 P/L Design and Data Products.
   iv.  ISRO Team Excellence Award in 2012 for RISAT-1 P/L Fabrication and Qualification
   v.  "Ruchi Bharat Gaurav Award-2015" by Ruchi Prativa Foundation, Cuttack.
   vi.  "7th Acharya P C Ray Memorial Award" in 2016, by Institute of Pulmocare and Research Institute, Kolkata.
   vii.  "Distinguished Alumnus" by Jadavpur University,Kolkata in 2017.
   vii.  "Sri Atulaya Ghosh Memorial Award" from Bidhan Sishu Udyam,Kolkata in 2017.

He was Elected as -

   i.    Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering in 2007.
   ii.    Corresponding Member of International Academy of Astronautics in 2008.
   iii.    Fellow of Institution of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineers in 2016.
   iv.    Fellow of Indian Society of Remote Sensing in 2016.

He has 5 granted patents, 3 pending patents, 9 copyrights and more than 25 papers to his credit.